Skip to content

Matchday 10: Fulham vs. Wigan

30 October 2010

Can Andrew Johnson point the way to victory for Fulham?

There were several times this week that I started a Fulham post, but the general malaise over the franchise seeped down to me. I didn’t really care to run the latest Roque Santa Cruz or Shay Given rumors. I was nonplussed by sudden interest in Cardiff City’s Jay Bothroyd, which would foolishly weaken my “other” club’s promotion hopes. I was numb to the latest update on Damien Duff’s calf muscle.

In short, I (and the club) need three points against Wigan. I know the Latics have played much better since the fiasco that was their first two matches. I know these teams normally draw and there are very few goals scored (just a total of 14 in the last 10 matches between the two clubs). I also know this is a game Fulham should win at home, and they are healthy enough to do it.

Danny Murphy and Simon Davies are expected back in the midfield, with Andy Johnson possibly getting a start up top next to Moussa Dembele. Will Mark Hughes go with the utterly unimpactful Jonathan Greening in central midfield again or move Chris Baird up to deputize for the still-injured Dickson Etuhu and giving John Pantsil a run out?

I don’t really care what it looks like. Although we’re still at the point of the season where performances sometimes can be worth more than results, the time for excuses for Fulham are over, at least for tomorrow. The Cottagers have more than enough firepower to get this done at home, and I expect they will do so.

Prediction: Fulham 2, Wigan 1

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bob Brewer permalink
    30 October 2010 9.15am

    The better get a win this weekend. With Villa and @Chelsea the next two, it doesn’t look like they’ll get a lot of points. All the injuries have put them in the relegation battle which is unfortunate.

    They really, really need the W this weekend. I have a soft spot in me for Fulham after their escape a few seasons ago.

Leave a Reply

